skip to Main Content

Removing Your Web History from Google Before the Privacy Change on 3/1/12


Removing Your Web History in Google Before the Privacy Change on 3/1/12

Do you know if Google is tracking your Web activity? If you have a Google account and have not paused the Web History setting, then the search giant is keeping track of your searches and the sites you visited. This data has been separated from other Google products, but on March 1 it will be shared across all of the Google products you use when Google’s new privacy policy goes into effect.

If you’d like to prevent Google from combining this potentially sensitive data with the information it has collected from your YouTube, Google+, and other Google accounts, you can remove your Web History and stop it from being recorded moving forward.

After signing into your Google account, choose Account Settings from the pull-down menu in the upper-right corner of a Google product such as Gmail, Google+, or Google.com. From the Account Settings page, scroll down to the Services header and click on the “Go to web history” link.) If your Web History is enabled, you’ll see a list of recent searches and sites visited. Click the gray Remove all Web History button at the top of the page and a subsequent OK button to clear your Web History.

Back To Top